Indonesia set for UN Security Council seat

Indonesia set for UN Security Council seat


Jakarta — Indonesia is set to for a non-permanent seat at the UN Security Council when 193-member states of the world body vote to appoint five new members on Friday (08/06). “Indonesia will hope the voice of and views of countries if elected a non-permanent member of the UNSC; also will be a bridge-builder to achieve common goals toward world’s peace and prosperity,” the Indonesian Minister of Foreign Affairs Retno Marsudi said in a statement on Tuesday (05/06). Marsudi, who is leading the Indonesian delegation, is in New York for Friday’s election. She started her working visit to the UN Headquarters by hosting a diplomatic reception. In her remarks before ambassadors and diplomats, Marsudi conveyed Indonesia’s commitment to becomin a True Partner of World Peace, which is the slogan for candidacy, and to contributing to world peace and stability. Indonesia had a long track record in contributing to peace and humanitarian efforts, Marsudi said. The country had been in involved in UN Peacekeeping Mission since 1957 and currently ranks the eighth largest contributor to these missions. It had deployed 2,631 military and police personnel, 81 of them women, for several UN peacekeeping missions. Indonesia was also involved in humanitarian efforts in Haiti, Fiji and Nepal, which had been devastated by natural disasters. Indonesian activists were in the vanguard in addressing the humanitarian crisis in Bangladesh’s Cox Bazaar, Myanmar’s Rakhine State, Gaza of Palastine and Marawi of the Philippines. “A country’s record cannot be established in a day or a month,” Marsudi said. To be elected a non-permanent member of UNSC, Indonesia needs two-thirds or about 129 of the votes in a secret ballot. Indonesia is competing with Maldives for one seat allocated to the Asia-Pacific group. Indonesia has held the seat three times in 1973-1974, 1995-1996 and 2007-2008. The Security Council has 15 members – five permanent (United States, United Kingdom, France, Russia and China) and 10 non-permanent serving for two years.

Source: Antaranews